Follow

What is the Spartan Trifecta? How do I earn it?

A member of the Spartan Trifecta Tribe finishes one of each Spartan distance - Sprint, Super and Beast - in a calendar year (January 1st - December 31st), anywhere in the world. You can earn multiple Trifectas in a single year, however only one lap per day, per event will count toward this accomplishment. 
(If you run in both the Elite and Open series, still only ONE run through the course, per day, per event will count towards a trifecta.)

The Hurricane heat does not count toward a Trifecta.

Stadium Sprints do count as a "Sprint" towards the Trifecta. 

Racers that complete an Ultra Beast will be able to count that as a "Beast" for their Trifecta. However, you must complete the entire Ultra Beast for it to count. Only completing half will not result in a "Beast" towards your Trifecta. 


You can run the races in any order, the sprint does not need to be the first event.

There is nothing special that you will need to do to "claim" a trifecta medal, as you will earn the three pieces of it, as you complete your races during the season. Once you have your third piece, the medals will fit together to complete one big Trifecta medal. If you are earning your 2x, 3x, etc. Trifecta medal, they are available on site at the event. Please complete your race, then see our results tent and/or our announcer booth to be presented with your multi-Trifecta medal.

Trifecta merchandise (shirts, medal holders, etc.) will be available for sale at the merchandise tent at all events, but no additional merchandise, other than medal pieces, will be provided to Trifecta finishers.

Please note: Starting in 2015 all races in the world will award the Trifecta medal pieces. There are no single trifecta medals for any country. 

*You do not need the trifecta pass to earn the Spartan Trifecta.

Was this article helpful?
10 out of 15 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

205 Comments

  • 0
    Avatar
    Travis Smith

    I understand that the issue has to do with timing and recording finish times. What if I were to register and PAY for two laps in one day? Wouldn't that get me two timing chips, and register as two races? Then there would be no conflict regarding the "top time." I'm simply looking for a work-around until the issue is resolved on the timing system side.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Darin Johnson

    Am I missing something? You have a list of 2016 preregistration sites. When I preregister, it says 2015. Just don't want to be a no-show (especially since specific dates aren't listed yet).

  • 0
    Avatar
    Andrew Gibson

    I was going to go for a trifecta and start with a sprint in September but I just read that it is a calendar year instead of 12 months.
    1. I don't understand that at all. It seems like you are discouraging people from even attempting it.
    2. Are people who get it actually employed??? There is absolutely no way to take off enough time to travel to 3 events in one calendar year...unless you have no life/friends/family and use every week your employer gives you to run one race in 3 different locations.

    Not trying to complain, just very discouraged by the set up.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Aja Varney

    Hi Andrew,
    A calendar year is correct for the Trifecta. We have a huge number of people that complete 1-7x trifecta's last year... and a few that completed all the way to 15x trifectas. As a tip, most of those people try and take advantage of our multi-day events to maximize their races. So, they might race on Saturday, then the next race on Sunday.
    We've added quite a lot of new races to our calendar this year, so you might find that you are able to squeeze in a trifecta near you, after all.

    Where are you located? Shoot an email over to Customer Service (us@spartan.com) and we can help you figure out some possible trifectas with the least travelling!

  • 0
    Avatar
    Andrew Gibson

    Thanks for the quick response!
    I sent an email over so hopefully I can work something out.
    Is there a link you could send me to a list of your races because the calendar I have found seems to be out of date.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Aja Varney

    Hi Andrew,
    You can find our full list of races right on our website:
    http://www.spartan.com/races/races-results/?mode=list

  • 0
    Avatar
    maher tobia

    hi aja i read on the website last year that you can not do a spartan ultra beast and spartan beast in the same year is this correct or did i read it wrong

  • 0
    Avatar
    Antonios Elmaoglou

    As noted above “only one lap per day, per event will count toward this accomplishment”.
    To my understanding, it is acceptable to complete a Super and a Sprint on the same day, and still count it as 2 out of 3 for the Trifecta, right?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Aja Varney

    Maher - You can absolutely do a Beast and an Ultra Beast in the same year, as long as you can fit them into your schedule/travel plans!

    Antonios - Correct, that's a great clarification. One lap per day, PER EVENT, will count toward your trifecta. So, if you ran the sprint twice in one day, only one would count. But if you ran a sprint and super in the same day, one lap of each would count.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Antonios Elmaoglou

    Thanks a million Aja for the quick response :)

  • 0
    Avatar
    Bhslead

    Has anything changed for Spartan Canada as far as Trifectas are concerned? I'm looking at maybe running my sprint in Canada, but wanted to know if I'll still have to go through the process of requesting a wedge.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Mr. Maniac

    I'm curious about Canada as well. If one of your trifecta legs in Canada, do you have to request a wedge be mailed to you? If you are doing 1 event in the US and the final 2 events in Canada, do you just get the standalone international Trifecta medal?

  • 0
    Avatar
    swimmingfiresnail

    Thanks for the Ultra Beast clarification, this site has improved greatly!

  • 0
    Avatar
    Ted Henderson

    If I get one Trifecta in 2015, and another one in 2016, does that count toward a 2x trifecta? Thus earning the bigger medal, or does it have to be in same year?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Luke Rutherford

    It has to be within the same calendar year.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Patrick Pichon

    My friend got denied his trifecta medal in 2014 because he was told he had to do 2 trifecta to earn it? This information is nowhere to be found ? Is it correct?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Ryan Gulino

    I am probably beating this dead horse to... death but I can't find the answer to this... If I run Elite Super and Open Super in the same day, can that count towards 2 Supers for the double trifecta? I am trying to save myself a trip to Utah.
    The key here is the separate Divisions.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Elvia Rios

    Aja Varney,

    I have a question. For 2014, I completed Sacramento Super and Malibu Sprint. I completed the SoCal Beast on January 17, 2015. So that would complete my 2014 Trifecta, correct? I understand the SoCal event on 1/17-1/18 will count for BOTH 2014 and 2015 trifecta years. I am registered to do the Socal Sprint 9/27/2015 and Sacramento Super November 8, 2015. But for 2015 Trifecta, I will be a Beast 1/3 "Piece: metal short. Where can I get my Beast "piece" to complete my Trifecta for 2015? thanks

  • 0
    Avatar
    Steven Beckwith

    Why does only one lap per day, per event count toward my double trifecta?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Aja Varney

    Hi Steven,
    Currently, our timing and results system is only able to track one lap per day, per event toward your points and trifecta status. It will default to the fastest one, but it will only be one lap.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Ryan Gulino

    This is a follow up to my request on May 4. Please let me know if running an Elite Super and an Open Super in the same day will count toward a double trifecta. I've heard different stories from Spartan Race. Thank you.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Steven Beckwith

    Thanks for your response Aja,

    I'm a seasons pass holder trying to save myself money on another long trip down to NJ, my results both show up on chronotrack and I put in the mileage on the course so why wouldn't they count it as good toward the double trifecta?

    Not trying to be a pain just trying to wrap my head around it.
    Thanks again!

  • 0
    Avatar
    Javier Fuertes

    I for one will always be disappointed with the calendar date rule. My first Spartan race was the World Championship Beast September 2013. At that time it was a full year from THAT date to complete Trifecta. I signed up for Sprint in Amesbury for late spring 2014 and waited and waited and waited for the Boston Super to come BEFORE the Sept 2014 deadline....you know the one you guys announced and kept everyone waiting and hanging around for!? Total bull. Anyway....that never came. I had decided that I would go to NJ to get the Super done BUT then I was made aware that the rules had changed. So my WC BEAST...was for nothing. For my first Spartan that was brutal and I am proud of that medal. But the fact that I couldn't complete the trifecta as advertised in 2013 was a HUGE disappointment.

    So regardless of what Spartan Race says...I don't need a special medal NOR do I (like many others I know) have that kind of money to blow in one calendar year to receive a medal. So in my mind and in my wallet....I completed the Trifecta.

    I vote ....go back to the old rules.
    Its fair to those who do their first or even second race in the fall but can't finish their 3rd by the end of year without shelling a ton of money to travel somewhere just for the medal. Thats just not cool. But I do get the business tactic behind. Brilliant.
    Unfortunately, it leaves a bad taste in some participants mouths once they figure it out.

    On a positive note and to finish upbeat, I am a BIG fan of what Spartan Races has done and provides. Very well put together, great races with cool obstacles that are actually challenging. I'm proud to say I've done all 3 and enjoyed each one (well the WC Beast was ridiculously brutal....but man I'm most proud of that one).

    My 2 cents...

  • 0
    Avatar
    Aja Varney

    Steven,
    Thanks for asking! Basically, in addition to the technology limitations that I noted, we feel that it's important for racers to test themselves on different terrain and courses, to earn a multiple trifecta. It's not just about the "mileage" it's about taking on the different courses and different challenges presented at each - whether it's the crazy Georgia Mud, or the mountains of VT, each event brings something different.

  • 0
    Avatar
    CHRIS IADAROLA

    Aja I am completing my double trifecta at pa next weekend with the super. Am I correct that they will have a dble tri medal at the result tent? Thank you for your time

  • 0
    Avatar
    Aja Varney

    Hi Chris!
    That's correct. Once you complete your race, just stop by the results tent, they'll do some verification and get you your hard-earned medal!

  • 0
    Avatar
    CHRIS IADAROLA

    Thank you Aja have a great weekend!

  • 0
    Avatar
    Bryant Garduque

    If my stadium race counts why do I still have to run the sprint, super and beast in one weekend?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Aja Varney

    Hi Bryant!
    Your stadium race absolutely does count as a "sprint" for the purpose of a trifecta. You do not have to run the sprint, super and beast in one weekend. To earn a trifecta, you need to complete a sprint (or stadium), super and Beast in one CALENDAR year.
    Thanks!

  • 0
    Avatar
    Bryant Garduque

    Thanks for the response. The reason that I as is for me to be able to complete it here it seems as if I have to run the sprint "again" and the other two. I understand the one calendar year thing but I was hoping for s way to just get myself in for super and beast

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk